South Carolina Workers’ Compensation - A Step-By-Step Guide To Your Case

South Carolina Workers’ Compensation – A Step-By-Step Guide To Your Case

If you’ve suffered a workplace injury, you need to take the necessary steps to ensure your case is handled properly and you get the most out of your workers’ compensation claim. Let the experts at The Clardy Law Firm walk your through

Get Medical Attention

Immediately seek medical attention following your accident. This ensures your health is taken care of and provides you with medical documentation for your case.

Report Your injury to your employer

Within 90 days of your injury or accident, you need to notify your employer of your condition.

File your claim

If your employer doesn’t file a claim within 10 days following your notification, you will need to file a claim by submitting Form 50 or Form 52 to the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission. You have 2 years from the date of the discovery of your injury to file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits.

If the employer/insurer approves your claim

You should be eligible to receive medical benefits. If your injury keeps you out of work, you may be able to receive compensation for your missed wages.

If the employer/insurer denies your claim

You can request a hearing in front of a South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission commissioner. If you disagree with the decision, you’re able to appeal by requesting review of your claim by a panel of commissioners. You may need to seek judicial review by the South Carolina Court of Appeals.

Your success depends on a strong case with a strong argument. An experienced Greenville workers’ compensation attorney can help prepare and present your appeal to help ensure you’re more likely to get your benefits.

Do you need help with your case? Contact The Clardy Law Firm so we can help you through the process and make sure you get the compensation you deserve.