By now, people are aware that the use of a seat belt ensures that they are safe when they’re driving or riding as a passenger in a vehicle. Your safety belt is your primary defence against injury in the event of an auto accident. Yet, despite the inherent safety features, many people choose not to wear them.
South Carolina Seat Belt Laws
South Carolina has laws in place to keep drivers and their passengers safe. In South Carolina, including:
- Everyone riding in your vehicle is required to wear a properly-fastened seat belt
- A police officer has the right to pull you over if you wear seen not wearing your seat belt
- Drivers are responsible for passengers that are 17 years of age and under (unless the passengers have their own driver’s license, special restricted license, or beginner’s permit)
In addition, there are special rules that apply to children:
- Children under 2 must be in a rear-facing safety seat in a rear passenger seat of the vehicle
- Children 2 years and over must be in a forward facing safety seat in a rear passenger seat
- Children that are at least 4 must be in a belt-positioning booster seat in a rear passenger seat
Fines for violating South Carolina seat belt laws range from $25-$50.
Facts about motor vehicle accidents
- Auto accidents are the leading cause of death for people 30 and under
- Wearing your seat belt can reduce the risk of serious injury and death in a crash by half
- Although there are a lot of people who wear their belt to stay safe, millions of Americans don’t
- Men between the ages of 21-35 are almost 3x as likely to die in a motor vehicle accident than their female counterparts